Open Space Committee


All meetings are held at 30 Schuyler Place (2nd Floor Conference Room), Morristown, unless otherwise noted.


  • March 19 at 7:30 PM
  • September 4 at 7:00 PM
  • September 14 at 8:45 AM (site visits)
  • October 22 at 6 PM (final presentations at MC Library)
  • December 4












The Morris County Open Space Committee reviews, prioritizes and makes recommendations to the Morris County Board of Chosen Freeholders on the funding or projects which fall into the municipal/qualified charitable conservancy category. This fifteen (15) member Committee consists of one representative from each of the eight municipal regions in the county (see the Map of County Regions), plus representatives from the County Planning Board, County Agriculture Development Board, County Park Commission, County Municipal Utilities Authority, County Historic Preservation Trust Fund Review Board, and two members-at-large. The Committee members are appointed by the Morris County Board of Chosen Freeholders pursuant to the Rules and Regulations of the Morris County Preservation Trust Fund (Section

Since its creation in 1994, 142 representatives have served on the Committee (see the Membership History of the Morris County Open Space Committee)


2019 Open Space Committee Members

  • Marcia Asdal – Region I – Chester Township
  • George Coogan – Region VII – Morris Plains
  • Nita Galate – Morris County Historic Preservation Trust Fund Review Board and Morris County Planning Board
  • Robin Jones – Region VI – Pequannock
  • Joyce Kanigel – Region IV – Rockaway Borough
  • Joseph Nametko – Region III – Netcong
  • Casey Parikh – At-Large
  • Don Richardson – Region VIII – Long Hill
  • Elliott Ruga – Region V – Boonton Town
  • Mohamed Seyam – At-Large
  • David Sprandel – Region II – Mendham Borough
  • Laura Szwak – Morris County Municipal Utilities Authority
  • Matthew Tal – Morris County Park Commission
  • Jay Thomson – Morris County Agriculture Development Board

Freeholder Liaisons

  • Stephen H. Shaw
  • Deborah Smith (alternate)