Planning Board

Board Member Login


All Planning Board meetings are held at 30 Schuyler Place, Morristown, 2nd Floor Schuyler Conference room at 7:00 pm.


  • January 17
  • February 21
  • March 21
  • April 18
  • May 16
  • June 20
  • July 18
  • September 19
  • October 17
  • December 5
  • January 16, 2020













Duties & Powers of County Planning Boards

  • Adopt a master plan showing the county planning board’s recommendations for the development of the county.
  • Advise the Board of Chosen Freeholders in adopting and establishing an official county map, showing the highways, roadways, parks, parkways, and sites for public buildings or works, under county jurisdiction, or in the acquisition, financing or construction of which the county has participated or may be called upon to participate.
  • Review of all subdivisions of land within the county and for the approval of those subdivisions affecting county road or drainage facilities.
  • Review of site plans for land development along county roads or affecting county drainage facilities and for the approval of such development.


The Morris County Planning Board consists of nine regular members and four alternate members:

  • Director of the Board of Chosen Freeholders
  • One member of the Board of Chosen Freeholders appointed by the Freeholder Director.
  • County Engineer
  • Six citizen members who may not hold any other county office and are appointed by the Director of the Board of Chosen Freeholders with the approval of that body.
  • One freeholder alternate member who serves in absence of the Freeholder Director or freeholder member.
  • Two alternate members who serve in absence of a citizen member.
  • The Assistant County Engineer who serves as an alternate to the County Engineer

The Morris County Planning Board has four Standing Committees:

  • Legislative & Municipal
  • Land Development Review
  • Environment & Watershed
  • Long Range Planning

The duties of the four Standing Committees are described in the Bylaws.


  • Douglas R. Cabana, Freeholder Director
  • Christine Myers, Freeholder
  • Deborah Smith, Freeholder Alternate
  • Christopher Vitz, P.E., County Engineer
  • Roslyn Khurdan, P.E., Assistant County Engineer, Alternate
  • Ted Eppel
  • Isobel Olcott
  • Annabel Pierce
  • Steve Rattner
  • Everton Scott
  • Stephen Jones
  • Nita Galate, Alternate #1
  • Christian Francioli, Alternate #2